Henry County is located in west central Missouri approximately half way between Kansas City and Springfield.  The estimated 22,000 residents enjoy abundant hunting, fishing and other outdoor sport opportunities.  Around 80% of the county is forested and moderately hilly, most of which is adjacent to the U.S. Corps of Engineers public lands bordering the 55, 600 acre Harry S. Truman Reservoir.

While Henry County is corporate home for several businesses and manufacturing plants, agricultural is still the economic basis of many of the families who reside in the county.

Within Henry County, there are eight incorporated communities including Blairstown, Brownington, Calhoun, Clinton (the county seat), Deepwater, Montrose, Urich, and Windsor.  Henry County boasts excellent educational systems with Clinton C-124, Montrose R-14, Calhoun R-8, Sherwood R-8, Lakeland R-3 and Windsor R-1 offering K-12th Grade facilities and Shawnee R-3, Leesville R-9, and Davis R-12 offering K-8th Grade.  There are also three private schools offering classes K-8th grade, located within the county.

Henry County is one of 22 counties in Missouri with a township form of government.  The county has nineteen townships and eleven special road districts, each with their own elected board to oversee the roads of the township/special road district.  To learn more about Township Government in Missouri please visit this site: University Extension

Henry County is proud of it’s countywide Emergency 9-1-1 system, its four rural public water districts, and its Henry County Economic Development Council, Inc.  It is home to one of the best public county libraries in the state and has expanded medical facilities unique to a county its size.

The Henry County Courthouse is located in the center of the Historic Downtown Clinton Square, recently listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Clinton square is the largest town square in the State of Missouri.  The large shady courthouse lawn is the site of many community celebrations and events.